Skip to main content

Review: All our Yesterdays by Cristin Terill


A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time - All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn't happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture - being kept apart, overhearing each other's anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There's no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It's from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that's about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.


 My Thoughts

Another quick review from me today about a fab YA read.

I actually really loved All our Yesterdays. It is fast paced and exciting with some brilliant ideas. I loved how the story flipped backwards and forwards between the past and present meaning I had to start piecing together the story for myself. I particularly enjoyed seeing how the two stories were woven together and I loved the time travel element to the story. I love a good YA title with a time travelling element.

What I found particularly fascinating about this story was what it had to say about fate and whether someone is destined to follow a certain path. I liked seeing how this played out within the story and how it affected their actions. A quick mention needs to go to Finn as I loved him as a character that boy is too gorgeous for his own good.

A fab read which I really really enjoyed.

Comments

Clover said…
I started reading this recently but was put off by the amount of raving and high praise I was reading about the book on Twitter and different places. Hype strikes again!