Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from June, 2017

Can't wait to read

Another month, another pile of books I'm desperately waiting for

Songs about Us by Chris Russell



Two months on from the explosive finale to book one, Charlie's life is almost back to normal again: rebuilding her relationship with her father, hanging out with best mate Melissa, and worrying about GCSEs. All the while, Gabe's revelations about her mother are never far from her mind. And neither is Gabe.

It's not long before Charlie is pulled back into the world of Fire&Lights - but the band seem different this time. But then again, so is she...

Meanwhile, tensions between Gabe and Olly continue to run high, leading to more turmoil between the band members and press than ever before. But when Gabriel and Charlie stumble upon yet another startling truth that links them together - everything they have stands to implode in front of them.


I loved Songs about a girl so I cannot wait to get my hands on this. I might have to do a reread sooner rather than later to keep me going b…

The names they gave us by Emery Lord

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters—in faith, in love, and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp—one for troubled kids—Lucy isn’t sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

Emotionally-charged and unforgettable, Emery Lord’s storytelling shines with the promise of new love and true friendship, even in the face of life’s biggest challenges.



A real mixed bag for me for a variety of reasons.

I love Emery Lord's books as a rule. I like her writing style and the emotion she gets through her books and this was not exception.

I …

After the Fire by Will Hill

Deep in the Texas desert, Moonbeam lives with her Brothers and Sisters. They're safe, protected by the Fence and Father John. Because Father John knows what's right and what's wrong. But then Nate arrives from Outside, stirring doubt...and suddenly Moonbeam's world is on fire. But what happens after? What happens when you lose everything you've ever known?

Powerful, gripping, and beautifully told, bestselling author Will Hill's After the Fire is a novel about love, hope, loss and, ultimately, courage


Super intense and really chilling YA. I was hooked from the first page and didn't want to put it down until I was done.

I've come to expect a lot from Will Hill's writing after loving his Department 19 series despite not particularly being a fan of vampire stories or gore he had had me hooked. This book is completely different content wise but hooked me in much the same way with the intense writing style and an intriguing storyline. 

Moonbeam's story is…

Bookcase Showcase: Author Hayley Barker

I must confess that my bookshelves are rather a jumbled mess. Over the years, I have made half-hearted attempts to categorise them in alphabetical order, colour, genre, etc. but they never stay that way for long. I think the books must get up in the night, have a bit of a party and then collapse in an exhausted muddle when day breaks; it's the only reasonable explanation I can think of. I can't truly be cross with them for this because it's exactly how I like them and it's the way they will stay.
The bookshelves reflect me. They reflect my inability to maintain a tidy home despite my continued desperate efforts, and they reflect my reading habits and my tastes in literature. On my shelves, contemporary YA snuggles down with the Brontës, and with travel guides and books on raising children and William Wordsworth and Sylvia Plath.

The shelves are currently enjoying a bit of a rejuvenation.I flirted with the Kindle for a few years but I have found that I retain less memory …

Troublemakers by Catherine Barter

In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened.

Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London. Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off. 
Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician. As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious.


Like nothing else I've read YA. I really enjoyed it and stayed up too late to finish it. 

I had high hopes for this book after hearing about it at Andersen's blogger event and I …

If birds fly back by Carlie Sorosiak

Linny has been living life in black and white since her sister Grace ran away, and she's scared that Grace might never come back. When Linny witnesses the return to Miami of a cult movie star long presumed dead, she is certain it's a sign. Surely Álvaro Herrera, of all people, can tell her why people come back - and how to bring her sister home?
Sebastian has come to Miami seeking his father, a man whose name he's only just learned. An aspiring astrophysicist, he can tell Linny how many galaxies there are, how much plutonium weighs and how likely she is to be struck by a meteorite. But none of the theories he knows are enough to answer his own questions about why his father abandoned him, and why it left him in pieces.
As Sebastian and Linny converge around the mystery of Álvaro's disappearance - and return - their planets start to collide. Linny's life is about to become technicolor, but finding the answers to her questions might mean losing everything that matters.


Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian's "writer to watch" Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you're willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

As I expected and hoped I adored this and found myself unable to put it down staying up long past my bedtime.

There are many reasons why I loved this book. Firstly Non just gets teens and captures that teen voice perfectly. Her characters feel real and it is very easy to root for them from page one. I liked how it tackled ideas round the use of social media and role in has in modern society both positive and negative especial…