Skip to main content

Posts

Blog Tour: The Legacy of Halesham Hall by Jenni Keer

  Solve the house's puzzle. Claim the Bellingham inheritance . . . Uncover the truth behind the mysterious legacy of Halesham Hall in this page-turning dual-time novel from the author The Secrets of Hawthorn Place, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kate Morton. A love that seems lost, may still yet be found, for real love always endures. 1890. One summer evening changes everything for Sidney and Leonard Bellingham when their beloved mother disappears from the family home, Halesham Hall. Left with their bitter father, they are taught to trust no one but themselves, with brother pitted against brother to see who is worthy of inheriting the Bellingham Board Games company. But the series of twisted games they are forced to play will have far reaching consequences. 1920. Phoebe Bellingham arrives at Halesham Hall determined to solve the puzzles that will allow her to claim back the Bellingham inheritance. But this legacy involves more than one secret, and soon Phoebe realises that t
Recent posts

Blog Tour: Something Certain, Maybe by Sara Barnard

  Rosie is ready for her life to begin, because nothing says new life like going to university. After years of waiting and working hard, she's finally on the road that will secure her future. Except university turns out to be not what she hoped or imagined, and although she's not exactly  unhappy  – really! – she might be a little bit worried that she doesn't really like her course much. Or her flatmates. Or really... anything? But it's normal to be homesick (right?) and everything will have settled in a month or two, and it's totally fine that her friends seem so much happier than she is, and that the doctors don’t seem to know what’s wrong with her mother. But then she meets Jade, and everything starts to look a little brighter. At least, it does if she’s  only  looking at Jade. But is first love enough when everything else is falling apart? I am delighted to be sharing my review for Something Certain, Maybe as part of the blog tour to celebrate the release of thi

Blog Tour: One Moonlit Night by Rachel Hore

  Accept it, he is dead. No, it’s not true. It is. Everyone thinks so except you. Forced to leave their family home in London after it is bombed, Maddie and her two young daughters take refuge at Knyghton, the beautiful country house in Norfolk where Maddie’s husband Philip spent the summers of his childhood. But Philip is gone, believed to have been killed in action in northern France. Despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary, Maddie refuses to give up hope that she and Philip will some day be reunited.   Arriving at Knyghton, Maddie feels closer to her missing husband, but she soon realises that there’s a reason Philip has never spoken to her about his past. Something happened at Knyghton one summer years before. Something that involved Philip, his cousin Lyle and a mysterious young woman named Flora.   Maddie’s curiosity turns to desperation as she tries to discover the truth, but no one will speak about what happened all those years ago, and no one will reassure her that Phili

Blog Tour: The Little Shop of Hidden Treasures

I am delighted to be hosting a spot on the blog tour for Holly Hepburn' newest book. I love Holly's books and was so very excited to receive an early copy of this to read. In short, as I fully expected, I loved this book and enjoyed every single page. I loved the setting and it has definitely added York onto my list of destinations to visit at some point in the not too distant future (fingers crossed). I really loved the main character and getting behind her as she started to find her feet again and carve out a new life for herself. I also loved both of the love interests. I mean seriously picking between a hot Indiana Jones or a gorgeous and lovely jeweller who is sensitive and great with his hands. That's the kind of problem we all want.  I loved the history mystery thread to the story. I was as intrigued as Hope was and as fascinated as she was the more she found out about it. I love unravelling the story with her and was desperate to know more. I definitely have to give

Blog Tour: Underneath the Christmas Tree by Heidi Swain

  Wynter’s Trees is the home of Christmas. For the people of Wynmouth it’s where they get their family Christmas tree, and where Christmas truly comes to life. But for Liza Wynter, it’s a millstone around her neck. It was her father’s pride and joy but now he’s gone, she can’t have anything to do with it. Until her father’s business partner decides to retire and she must go back to handle the transition to his son Ned. When Liza arrives, she discovers a much-loved business that’s flourishing under Ned’s stewardship. And she’s happy to stay and help for the Christmas season, but then she has other plans. But will the place where she grew up make her change her mind? And can it weave its Christmas cheer around her heart…? Once again I am delighted to be part of the blog tour to celebrate the release of Heidi's latest book. I love Heidi's book. They ooze charm and an afternoon spent with one is always a treat. I picked this up after a particularly rubbish week and reading it just

Blog Tour: Home by Penny Parkes

 I am really pleased to be taking park in the blog tour for Penny Parkes new book home. As you'll see below I really loved this book so much so it is a strong contender for my book of the year. Anna Wilson travels the world as a professional housesitter – stepping into other people’s lives - caring for their homes, pets and sometimes even neighbours. Living vicariously.   But all Anna has ever really wanted is a home of her own – a proper one, filled with family and love and happy memories. If only she knew where to start.   Growing up in foster care, she always envied her friends their secure and carefree lives, their certainty and confidence. And, while those same friends may have become her family of choice, Anna is still stuck in that nomadic cycle, looking for answers, trying to find the courage to put down roots and find a place to call home. My thoughts I love Penny Parkes books. I pretty much binge read her previous series back to back and was therefore incredibly excited w

May favourites

This past month there have been four stand out reads for me in a month. I loved them all. The sight of you by Holly Miller Joel is afraid of the future. Since he was a child he's been haunted by dreams about the people he loves. Visions of what's going to happen - the good and the bad. And the only way to prevent them is to never let anyone close to him again. Callie can't let go of the past. Since her best friend died, Callie's been lost. She knows she needs to be more spontaneous and live a bigger life. She just doesn't know how to find a way back to the person who used to have those dreams. Joel and Callie both need a reason to start living for today. And though they're not looking for each other, from the moment they meet it feels like the start of something life-changing. Until Joel has a vision of how it's going to end . . . This book was incredible. It is one of those books that I can't even really say that much about because I worry about spoilin