Skip to main content

Author Interview - Denise Jaden

After yesterday's review I am pleased to post today an interview with Denise Jaden author of Losing Faith.



She is an extremely busy lady at the moment with her debut novel being released only two weeks ago but she kindly took some time out to answer a few questions for me.

Question 1: What inspired you to write Losing Faith?

At first, I just knew I wanted to write a sister story. From there, I figured out that one of the sisters had a secret, and the secret would only be discovered after she died. I lost a close friend of mine when I was sixteen, and I’ve always felt there was a lot to explore with a teen experiencing such a big and devastating event. 

Question 2: I love Brie as a character and the way she deals with the situation she finds herself in. Is she entirely fictional or based on a real person?

Brie is entirely fictional, though I would say that she gets her introspective side from me. Also, an interesting little tidbit – my husband’s birth sister, who he just met a few years ago, is named Brie. I loved the name the moment I heard it and decided it would work well for my new main character.
3.     
Question 3: Which of your favourite authors have you been inspired by when writing Losing Faith?

I’m always inspired by Laurie Halse Anderson, not just for this book, but for all of my writing. Her writing is so concise, and yet captures so much of each character and situation. 

      Question 4: Which 5 characters from books would you invite to an imaginary dinner party and why?

Interesting question! Most interviews ask me what one character I’d like to hang out with. Five is much easier! And I don’t care what you think of me, I’m going to list all guys (LOL). Wes from Sarah Dessen’s THE TRUTH ABOUT FOREVER, Dean from Sara Manning’s GUITAR GIRL, Wesley from Kody Keplinger’s THE DUFF, Patch from Becca Fitzpatrick’s HUSH HUSH, and yeah, I can’t help myself, Edward Cullen (even if he might kill the other four!) 

      Question 5: To sum up explain why everyone should read Losing Faith in 100 words or lessHere’s where I show you exactly how bad at promo I am! I don’t necessarily think everyone should read this book. It will appeal to readers of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson. It doesn’t jump in with high-paced action, but it does have some very full and developed characters who you will fall in love with and a story that will not lose your attention. The premise is unique, something you won’t find anywhere else. I hope you’ll give it a try!

      I happen to have a a lovely little haul of signed bookmarks from Denise. Some are going school for my pupils but the others I am looking to give away to some of my UK followers. If you are a UK follower and interested leave me a comment with an email address (I'll draw names out of a hat if necessary)  and I'll see what I can send out.

Comments

Clover said…
Oh what a fun interview. I'd love to be at that dinner party :)
basma aal said…
Such a cute interview :)