Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from March, 2017

Library Adventures

When I was growing up Thursday evening library visits were a particular treat. I had books at home but as I've always been an avid and speedy reader keeping up with me would have cost a fortune had they tried to buy all the books I wanted to read. Therefore the library happily filled that gap and I looked forward to going down and getting something new to read (although that said I was a ridiculously avid rereader at that point too).






My local library is housed in this quirky little building and I loved it but somehow over the years I just stopped visiting. I suspect it was a mix of things that happened. Over the years of high school I don't remember reading much fiction at all. My English lessons weren't inspiring to make me want to read and I had no idea really what to read because YA didn't exist as such. I carried on through education and didn't have time to read fiction once I got to University and it wasn't until Twilight appeared and YA became a thing tha…

Goodreads shelves: Aussie YA

I love goodreads. I discovered it before blogging and it was and continues to be an awesome way for me to keep tabs on my reading. I have all of my books logged on there and several shelves set up for the various things I am interested in.

I have decided to start a new feature on here about the various shelves I have set up looking at the various titles I have that coming under those categories starting with the first one being Aussie YA.

I love Aussie YA. There's something special about it that I can't quite put my finger on and I crave especially in the summer months. I have many many books on my Aussie YA goodreads shelves so I've decided to focus on just a few I adore.

Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar


Jess Gordon is out for revenge. Last year the jocks from Knights College tried to shame her best friend. This year she and a hand-picked college girl gang are going to get even. The lesson: don't mess with Unity girls. The target: Blondie, a typical Knights stud, arrogan…

Seven Days of You

Sophia has seven days left in Tokyo before she moves back to the States. Seven days to say good-bye to the electric city, her wild best friend, and the boy she’s harbored a semi-secret crush on for years. Seven perfect days…until Jamie Foster-Collins moves back to Japan and ruins everything.

Jamie and Sophia have a history of heartbreak, and the last thing Sophia wants is for him to steal her leaving thunder with his stupid arriving thunder. Yet as the week counts down, the relationships she thought were stable begin to explode around her. And Jamie is the one who helps her pick up the pieces. Sophia is forced to admit she may have misjudged Jamie, but can their seven short days of Tokyo adventures end in anything but good-bye?

***
Seven Days of You is one of those that I found myself completely absorbed in and unable to put down. I loved every page and didn't want it to end. 
I loved this book for several reasons. Firstly I adored the setting. I loved seeing Tokyo thro…

The Liar's Handbook by Keren David

River's life is blown apart when his mum invites her new boyfriend into their home and their lives. River is instantly suspicious of Jason he seems fake, too good to be true.

At school, River's routine fibs are escalating into something more serious, and his teacher gives him a notebook in the hope he can channel his fantasies into creative writing instead. And so, River begins The Liar's Handbook, and an investigation into Jason.

But what he uncovers is a terrible deception involving his biological father, the police force and his mum's environmental campaign group... but will anyone take his findings seriously?

This was a super quick read for me and a really interesting one because of the issue it covered which I can't talk about for fear of spoiling it for someone. I can say that it was utterly fascinating and really made me think. I really enjoyed River as a character and unravelling the story with him.

Damage by Eve Ainsworth

How can you heal if you can't face your past? Confident, popular Gabi has a secret - a secret so terrible she can't tell her family, or her best friend. She can't even take pleasure in her beloved skateboarding any more. And then one day an impulse turns to something darker. Gabi has never felt so alone. But then she learns that not everyone has wounds you can see. A searing look at self-harm and acceptance from hugely talented author Eve Ainsworth. Warning: includes content that some readers may find upsetting.

Just a quick review for this fab read. I really enjoy Eve's books because they are thoughtful and don't shy away from covering the hard hitting stuff that teens today face. I thought the way in which Gabi's life was written about was really well done and I liked seeing how Eve covered self harm in a thoughtful way really helping you understand why Gabi was doing what she was doing especially because it's an issue that's so easily dismissed…

Breakfast at Tiffany's stationery

I received a lovely package from Abrams and Chronicle last month filled with lovely stationery. In amongst them was three things from their Breakfast at Tiffanys range

Breakfast at Tiffany's Journal


Inspired by the beloved character Holly Golightly from the classic film, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, this stylish hardcover journal features illustrations of the movie’s most popular icons. Holly’s multi-strand pearls, her cat eye sunglasses, her signature lipstick, and more are scattered throughout the interior lined pages alongside her signature one-liners (“Thursday! It can’t be! It’s too gruesome!”). It’s the perfect accessory for scheming, note taking, and venting on those days when you get the mean reds.

Breakfast at Tiffany's Notebooks



Inspired by the beloved character Holly Golightly from the classic film,Breakfast at Tiffany’s, this stylish set of three paperback notebooks is perfect for tossing in your bag, making lists and dashing down thoughts on the fly. Each notebo…

My Name is Victoria by Lucy Worsley

'You are my sister now,' Victoria said, quietly and solemnly. 'Never forget it. I love you like a sister, and you are my only friend in all the world.' Miss V. Conroy is good at keeping secrets. She likes to sit as quiet as a mouse, neat and discreet. But when her father sends her to Kensington Palace to become the companion to Princess Victoria, Miss V soon finds that she can no longer remain in the shadows. Miss V's father has devised a strict set of rules for the young princess, which he calls the Kensington System. It governs her behaviour and keeps her locked away from the world. He says it is for the princess's safety, but Victoria herself is convinced that it is to keep her lonely, and unhappy. Torn between loyalty to her father and her growing friendship with the wilful and passionate Victoria, Miss V has a decision to make: to continue in silence, or to speak out. By turns thrilling, dramatic and touching, this is the story of Queen Victo…

Can't wait to read

I am always on the look out for my next read and because I tend to read all my proofs quickly I find myself doing a lot of pining on goodreads over books months away from publication.

These are the books I am most excited about of late.

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt


A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian's "writer to watch" Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you're willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

I am beside myself waiting for this book. I adore Non and I feel like twitter is personally taunting me as all the pesky booksellers have got their hands on …

Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen

Petula has avoided friendship and happiness ever since tragedy struck her family and took her beloved younger sister Maxine. Worse, Petula blames herself. If only she'd kept an eye on her sister, if only she'd sewn the button Maxine choked on better, if only...  Now her anxiety is getting out of control, she is forced to attend the world’s most hopeless art therapy class. But one day, in walks the Bionic Man: a charming, amazingly tall newcomer called Jacob, who is also an amputee. Petula's ready to freeze him out, just like she did with her former best friend, but when she’s paired with Jacob for a class project, there’s no denying they have brilliant ideas together – ideas like remaking Wuthering Heights with cats. But Petula and Jacob each have desperately painful secrets in their pasts – and when the truth comes out, there’s no way Petula is ready for it.

Oh man this book. I have never personally related to a character so much. Petula worries about everythin…