Friday, 15 April 2016

Shtum by Jem Lester


Powerful, darkly funny and heart-breaking, Shtum is a story about fathers and sons, autism, and dysfunctional relationships.

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son Jonah has severe autism and Ben and his wife, Emma, are struggling to cope.

When Ben and Emma fake a separation - a strategic decision to further Jonah's case in an upcoming tribunal - Ben and Jonah move in with Georg, Ben's elderly father. In a small house in North London, three generations of men - one who can't talk; two who won't - are thrown together.

A powerful, emotional, but above all enjoyable read, perfect for fans of THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.


My Thoughts
I really enjoyed this book. It gave me real insight to how it must be to have a child with autism and the lengths you must have to go to to make their needs met as well as all the feelings you have to deal with while living that life.

I adored the relationship between the father of the book and his father but also the relationship between the grandfather and the child. I also found the background story to the grandfather fascinating.

Heartfelt and beautiful. Very much recommended.

No comments: