Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from August, 2016

August Review

Yay for August an lots of reading time. I've had the real luxury of being able to spend a lot of time reading things I've been desperately looking forward to this month which is awesome.

Books read in August
 Birthright by David Hingley (4 stars)Lead by Kylie Scott (3 stars)What I couldn't tell you by  Faye Bird (3 stars)What's a Girl gotta do by Holly Bourne (3 stars)I see you by Clare Mackintosh (4 stars)Deep by Kylie Scott (3 stars)Unboxed by Non Pratt (4 stars)Kid Got Shot by Simon Mason (3 stars)Super Awkward by Beth Garrod (3 stars)Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (4 stars)The Treasure Map of Boys by E Lockhart (3 stars)The Sun is also a star by Nicola Yoon (4 stars)Real Live Boyfriends by E Lockhart (3 stars)The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling (5 stars)Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan (4 stars)
Events Attended
I very lucky to be invited to Egmont's Blogger Day. It was an awesome event where I got to meet several awesome au…

Can't wait to read

Another pile of books I cannot wait to read soon

The Pant Project by Cat Clarke



Bookcase Showcase: Author Faye Bird

The Raven: Pop Up Book

Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Raven” is one of the most widely recognized poems in the English language. When it first appeared in the New York Evening Mirror in 1845, the poem made Poe an overnight sensation. Master paper engineer David Pelham amazes us once again with his pop-up design interpreting this haunting love story.

My thoughts
I am not by any stretch of the imagination an Edgar Allan Poe fan but I adore this edition of this book. It is the most intricate and beautiful pop up book I have ever seen, Each page is a work of art in itself and utterly stunning. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves below but essentially if you love books you will adore this.





Girl out of Water by Nat Luurtsema

I am Lou Brown: Social Outcast, Precocious Failure, 5’11” and STILL GROWING.

I should be at Olympics swim-training camp right now but it was my (speedy) best friend Hannah who got in.

Cool! Cool! That’s cool! [*Cries*]

One minute I’m masterminding Operation: Make Friends, barely keeping my head above water, the next I’m training three boys too cool to talk to me in a sport I’d made up. In a fish tank. In an aquarium.

My life has gone weird very quickly.

A thoroughly British teen comedy starring a hilariously flawed heroine with a quip for every occasion – perfect for fans of Holly Smale, Holly Bourne, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Kinsella.

My thoughts
I read this book super fast a few weeks back andreally enjoyed it staying up late to finish it. It's quite funny and I loved all the characters.

Lou is in a really funny place having just missed out on her dream to train for the olympics and is thrown back into the world without being able to carry on doing the thing that has cons…