Wednesday, 31 August 2016

August Review

Yay for August an lots of reading time. I've had the real luxury of being able to spend a lot of time reading things I've been desperately looking forward to this month which is awesome.

Books read in August
  1.  Birthright by David Hingley (4 stars)
  2. Lead by Kylie Scott (3 stars)
  3. What I couldn't tell you by  Faye Bird (3 stars)
  4. What's a Girl gotta do by Holly Bourne (3 stars)
  5. I see you by Clare Mackintosh (4 stars)
  6. Deep by Kylie Scott (3 stars)
  7. Unboxed by Non Pratt (4 stars)
  8. Kid Got Shot by Simon Mason (3 stars)
  9. Super Awkward by Beth Garrod (3 stars)
  10. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (4 stars)
  11. The Treasure Map of Boys by E Lockhart (3 stars)
  12. The Sun is also a star by Nicola Yoon (4 stars)
  13. Real Live Boyfriends by E Lockhart (3 stars)
  14. The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling (5 stars)
  15. Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan (4 stars)

Events Attended
I very lucky to be invited to Egmont's Blogger Day. It was an awesome event where I got to meet several awesome authors including Michael Grant whose brains I got to pick for historical fiction recommendations over lunch and tea. I can't wait to read the sequel to his Soldier Girl book. I also got an Electric Monkey Tshirt. I love a bookish tshirt.

Book of the Month



Has to be Annie Darling's The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. I loved it and am in the process of desperately seeking more books set in bookshops.


September's TBR
  • Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
  • Mother Tongue by Julie Mayhew
  • No Man's Land by Simon Tolkien
  • Blood Wedding by Pierre LeMaitre
  • How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry
  • The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
  • The Sign of One by Eugene Lambert
  • The Road to Ever After by Moria Young
  • Under Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall
  • Jinks and O'Hare Funfair Repair by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre
  •  Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
  • The Creeping Shadow by Jonathan Stroud
  • Girl Online by Zoe Sugg
  • The Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange
  • Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

Monday, 29 August 2016

Can't wait to read

Another pile of books I cannot wait to read soon

The Pant Project by Cat Clarke



A Transformer is a robot in disguise. Liv is a boy in disguise. It's that simple. Liv knows he was always meant to be a boy, but with his new school's terrible dress code, he can't even wear pants. Only skirts.

Operation: Pants Project begins! The only way for Liv to get what he wants is to go after it himself. But to Liv, this isn't just a mission to change the policy- it's a mission to change his life. And that's a pretty big deal.


The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer


In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life.

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn't even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now, she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They've killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it's her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life, but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

In this tautly plotted novel, Meyer creates a fierce and fascinating new heroine with a very specialized skill set. And she shows once again why she's one of the world's bestselling authors.


Wing Jones by Katherine Webber





Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing's speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

  

Saturday, 27 August 2016

Bookcase Showcase: Author Faye Bird



Books live in various places in my house. They are mainly on the bookshelves downstairs, but also on the landing, in my children’s rooms and next to my bed. There are also usually a couple (at least) kicking around in the bathroom.



The bookshelves downstairs are a mixture of my books and my husband’s. We don’t have a huge amount of space at home so these are the books that we’ve each of us decided to keep for one reason or another. His tend to be non-fiction, although the odd piece of fiction does appear.  Mine are all fiction, plays too. They are the books I’ve loved, studied or been given; the books that mean something to me and that I know I’ll want to come back to again for one reason or another.

But books move around in my house too. My children, who are now 11 and 13, are getting closer to reading lots of the YA books I’ve devoured, so books have started to move from my room to theirs, and sometimes I’ll nab a book they’ve chosen to read after they’ve finished with it. This is a new thing - and rather lovely!



I have claimed one space at home as my own for books - here, on the landing, in an old glass-fronted bookcase with my grandmother’s teapot sat on top. This is the place the rest of the family hilariously call “Mum’s booky corner,” but I really wanted a place of my own for some of my books and so I claimed it! Here are the books I’ve read recently and loved, the books I’ve had signed, the books I’m looking forward to reading next and there is (at the moment) space for the books still to come... 


When love turns to jealousy, when jealousy turns to rage, when rage turns to destruction...

Laura was head over heels in love with Joe. But now Laura lies in a coma and Joe has gone missing. Was he the one who attacked her?

Laura's sister Tessie is selectively mute. She can't talk but she can listen. And as people tell her their secrets, she thinks she's getting close to understanding what happened on that fateful night.

Information about the Book
Title: What I Couldn’t Tell You
Author: Faye Bird
Release Date: May 1st 2016
Genre: YA Thriller
Publisher: Usborne
Format: Paperback




Faye writes fiction for young adults. Before becoming a writer she worked as a literary agent representing screenwriters in film and TV. She studied Philosophy and Literature at Warwick University, but has otherwise always lived in London, and still does now. Her second novel, What I Couldn’t Tell You, will be published on 1 May 2016.


Thursday, 25 August 2016

The Raven: Pop Up Book






Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Raven” is one of the most widely recognized poems in the English language. When it first appeared in the New York Evening Mirror in 1845, the poem made Poe an overnight sensation. Master paper engineer David Pelham amazes us once again with his pop-up design interpreting this haunting love story.

My thoughts
I am not by any stretch of the imagination an Edgar Allan Poe fan but I adore this edition of this book. It is the most intricate and beautiful pop up book I have ever seen, Each page is a work of art in itself and utterly stunning. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves below but essentially if you love books you will adore this.





Wednesday, 24 August 2016

Girl out of Water by Nat Luurtsema



I am Lou Brown: Social Outcast, Precocious Failure, 5’11” and STILL GROWING.

I should be at Olympics swim-training camp right now but it was my (speedy) best friend Hannah who got in.

Cool! Cool! That’s cool! [*Cries*]

One minute I’m masterminding Operation: Make Friends, barely keeping my head above water, the next I’m training three boys too cool to talk to me in a sport I’d made up. In a fish tank. In an aquarium.

My life has gone weird very quickly.

A thoroughly British teen comedy starring a hilariously flawed heroine with a quip for every occasion – perfect for fans of Holly Smale, Holly Bourne, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Kinsella.

My thoughts
I read this book super fast a few weeks back andreally enjoyed it staying up late to finish it. It's quite funny and I loved all the characters.

Lou is in a really funny place having just missed out on her dream to train for the olympics and is thrown back into the world without being able to carry on doing the thing that has consumed all of her free time. I really felt for her as she tried to find her place in the world without the one thing she loved and without the people she had previously spent all her time with. A particular shout out needs to go to the parents in this book who I loved. All too often parents are absent in YA or horrible and I loved that the parents in this book were both present and lovely.

The story itself has a lovely pace and is funny and quirky and I thoroughly enjoyed it.